In February, The Wall Street Journal published statistics, which suggested that by the summer of 2018, Apple Music would remove Spotify from the post of the most popular streaming service.

Not so long ago, a new statistic was released, supporting the findings of the WSJ. The Apple Music service appeared three years ago and during that time gathered about 35 million subscribers worldwide, while Spotify, launched in 2008, two months ago reached the mark of 70 million users. In February, Verto Analytics called it the most popular streaming service. Statistics estimated the number of unique visitors, the average listening time, the most popular devices from which users listen to music, and other parameters. In the first place was Apple Music with 49,5 million unique visitors per month and coverage in 23%. Second place went to Spotify with 47,7 million "unique" and 22% coverage. The most popular device for listening to music from Apple Music was the smartphone - it was used in 99% of cases, while 55% of subscribers used the mobile version of Spotify for a month.

Apple Music overtakes Spotify
Apple Music overtakes Spotify

Pandora and SoundCloud fought for third place on this list with 36,8 and 34,2 million unique users, respectively.

Pandora service was more often included on smartphones, and SoundCloud - on computers. The statistics also take into account the “commitment” parameter, which shows the degree of user loyalty to the service and the regularity of its use. Spotify has this parameter higher than Apple Music - 28% versus 19%. On average, users came to Spotify 61 once a month - about twice a day, while Apple Music subscribers used the 12 service once a month.

Statistics of world streaming services
Statistics of world streaming services

At the same time, according to statistics, Spotify is often included, but not for long: the average duration of one listening session is 2: 55. With Apple Music, this figure is 3: 27, with Pandora it reaches 7: 57, and TuneIn users spend almost 15 and a half minutes in the service.

It is worth noting that women use Apple Music and Pandora more often than men: they make up 56% and 59% of users of these services. Spotify is more popular with men - 56% of subscribers.

Statistics of world streaming services
Statistics of world streaming services

The distribution by age group is also unusual: Apple Music enjoys an equal number of subscribers between the ages of 55 years and from 25 to 34 years (by 23%), followed by listeners between the ages of 35 and 44 years. Spotify is most popular with young people: 24% accounts for users between the ages of 35 and 29, and 18% of listeners from 24 to 26.

Posted on materials stereo.ru

В феврале The Wall Street Journal опубликовал статистику, по результатам которой предположил, что к лету 2018 года Apple Music сместит Spotify с поста самого популярного стримингового сервиса.

Не так давно вышла новая статистика, подкрепляющая выводы WSJ. Сервис Apple Music появился три года назад и за это время собрал около 35 млн подписчиков по всему миру, в то время как Spotify, запущенный в 2008 году, два месяца назад достиг отметки в 70 млн пользователей. В феврале Verto Analytics назвала его наиболее популярным стриминговым сервисом. Статистика оценивала число уникальных посетителей, среднюю длительность прослушивания, наиболее популярные устройства, с которых пользователи слушают музыку, и другие параметры. На первом месте оказался Apple Music с 49,5 млн уникальных посетителей в месяц и охватом в 23%. Второе место занял Spotify с 47,7 млн «уников» и 22% охвата. Наиболее популярным устройством для прослушивания музыки с Apple Music стал смартфон — им пользовались в 99% случаев, в то время как мобильной версией Spotify за месяц воспользовались 55% подписчиков.

Apple Music обгоняет Spotify
Apple Music обгоняет Spotify

За третье место в этом списке боролись Pandora и SoundCloud с 36,8 и 34,2 млн уникальных пользователей соответственно.

Сервис Pandora чаще включали на смартфонах, а SoundCloud — на компьютерах.В статистике также учитывается параметр «приверженность», который показывает степень лояльности пользователей к сервису и регулярность его использования. У Spotify этот параметр выше, чем у Apple Music — 28% против 19%. В среднем на Spotify пользователи зашли 61 раз в месяц — это примерно дважды в день, в то время как подписчики Apple Music пользовались сервисом 12 раз в месяц.

Статистика мировых стриминговых сервисов
Статистика мировых стриминговых сервисов

При этом по статистике Spotify включают часто, но ненадолго: средняя длительность одной сессии прослушивания составляет 2:55. У Apple Music этот показатель равен 3:27, у Pandora достигает 7:57, а пользователи TuneIn за раз проводят в сервисе почти 15 с половиной минут.

Стоит отметить, что женщины пользуются Apple Music и Pandora чаще, чем мужчины: они составляют 56% и 59% пользователей этих сервисов. Spotify же больше популярен среди мужчин — это 56% подписчиков.

Статистика мировых стриминговых сервисов
Статистика мировых стриминговых сервисов

Распределение по возрастным группам тоже необычное: Apple Music пользуется равное количество подписчиков в возрасте от 55 лет и от 25 до 34 лет (по 23%), за ними идут слушатели в возрасте от 35 до 44 лет. Сервис Spotify наиболее популярен у молодежи: на пользователей в возрасте от 24 до 35 лет приходятся 29%, от 18 до 24 — 26% слушателей.

Опубликовано по материалам stereo.ru