Thrash metal or thrash metal. “Hammering” metal

The origins of thrash

Thrash metal or thrash (although the abbreviated word “trash” refers to a subculture rather than music) appeared as a historically logical development of the core direction of twentieth-century rock music - blues-rock: from rhythm and blues and rock and roll mid century, through blues rock, hard rock and heavy metal of the second half. The immediate precursor of the new style was a new wave of heavy metal, the place was California and the work of musicians from Metallica and Megadeth. Exodus, Anthrax, Slayer, Venom and Overkill also started playing music with a new sound in the mid-eighties of the last century. In general, thrash metal has absorbed a number of features and elements of the following styles of music: English heavy metal, American hardcore and American punk rock.

Features thrash style

Today they say and write that thrash appeared due to the interest of the then young drummer of Metallica, Lars Uloikh, to British rock and his trips to England, with the aim of gaining experience from local musicians in performing heavy music. In the first recordings of the American thrash, there is still no supertechnique of performance and the refined manner of performance of this music, which is now. But the music was already violent and rough, although raw in sound. Style standards have developed very quickly. The main one is the requirement for the technique of execution, when you need to play quickly with a clear vision of the composition and the placement of the necessary accents.

The thrash metal style arrangement is built on stiff and more complex than heavy metal riffs that play guitar and bass. A notable feature is the tremolo, which is played on electric guitars with great processing overload. There are also a number of features of thrash metal: these are the piercing parts of the guitar solo, the powerful sound of the snare drum, blast beats on two barrels, the mediator playing on the fretless bass, sometimes additional processing of the bass by overload effects. Vocals in trash are mostly low and hoarse, with growling elements, and high clean is also found. Of the musical features, one can note the frequent use of chromatisms, mixodiatonics, a change not only in harmony, but even in tonality and musical size in one song. More often than others, such modes as pentatonic and Lokrian are used. The content of the compositions of thrash groups concerns social problems and social inequality, protests against local wars, there are themes of love and loneliness.

Thrash style development

Since the late eighties of the twentieth century, thrash metal has been known throughout the world. The popularity of the style and the groups of its players did not know geographical boundaries and limits. World fame at that time was won: a group from Canada Annihilator, Brazilians Sepultura, German Kreator and Sodom, the American bands Testament, Forbidden, Death Angel and many others declared loudly and powerfully. In the nineties, it became clear that thrash metal, like other styles of rock music, is evolving and becoming the next stage in the development of rock in general. Trash in this regard has become the progenitor of such styles as groove metal, thrashcore, crossover, techno thrash and hardcore. Later, with the advent of certain new elements and features of sound or manner of performance, different terms began to be used, denoting new directions of rock, but in essence, remaining the same “heavy” rock.

Today, in the terminology denoting this or that “heavy weight” one can get confused - there are so many of it, the world of this music has become so diverse. The values ​​of thrash metal for world rock culture can hardly be overestimated, since during all periods of its existence, with all the ups and downs, heavy “metal” music was a powerful generator of subcultural processes in the constantly renewed youth environment. And this, be that as it may, is a rather significant contribution to the general palette of global modernity.

Трэш-метал или Треш-метал. «Долбящий» металл

Истоки трэша

Трэш-метал или трэш (хотя сокращённым словом «трэш» называют больше субкультуру, чем музыку) появился как исторически-логичное развитие стержневого направления рок-музыки двадцатого века — блюз-рока: от ритм-энд-блюза и рок-н-ролла середины века, через блюз-рок, хард-рок и хэви-метал второй его половины. Непосредственным предшественником нового стиля стала новая волна хэви-метала, место — Калифорния и творчество музыкантов групп Metallica и Megadeth. В середине восьмидесятых годов прошлого века играть музыку с новым звучанием также начали группы Exodus, Anthrax, Slayer, Venom и Overkill. В целом, трэш-метал впитал в себя ряд особенностей и элементов следующих стилей музыки: английский хэви-метал, американский хардкор и американский панк-рок.

Особенности стиля трэш

Сегодня говорят и пишут, что трэш появился благодаря интересу ещё тогда молодого барабанщика группы Metallica Ларса Ульоиха к британскому року и его поездкам в Англию, с целью набраться опыта у местных музыкантов в исполнении тяжёлой музыки. В первых записях американского трэша ещё нет супертехники исполнения и отточенной манеры исполнения этой музыки, которая есть сейчас. Но музыка уже была яростной и грубой, хотя и сырой по звучанию. Стандарты стиля сложились очень быстро. Главным из них является требование к технике исполнения, когда нужно играть быстро с чётким видением композиции и мест расстановки нужных акцентов.

Аранжировка в стиле трэш-метал построена на жестких и более сложных, чем в хэви-метал, рифах, играющих на гитаре и басу. Заметная особенность — это тремоло, которое играется на электрогитарах с большой перегрузкой в обработке. Есть и ещё ряд особенностей трэш-метала: это пронзительные партии соло гитары, мощный звук рабочего барабана, бласт-биты на двух бочках, игра медиатором на безладовом басу, иногда — дополнительная обработка баса перегрузочными эффектами. Вокал в трэше в основном низкий и хриплый, с элементами гроулинга, встречается и высокий чистый. Из музыкальных особенностей можно отметить частое использование хроматизмов, миксодиатоники, смену не только гармонии, но даже тональности и музыкального размера в одной песне. Чаще других применяются такие лады, как пентатоника и локрийский. Содержание композиций трэш-групп касается социальных проблем и социального неравенства, протеста против локальных войн, есть темы любви и одиночества.

Развитие стиля трэш

С конца восьмидесятых годов двадцатого века трэш-метал известен всему миру. Популярность стиля и групп его играющих не знала географических границ и пределов. Мировую известность в то время завоевали: группа из Канады Annihilator, бразильцы Sepultura, немецкие Kreator и Sodom, громко и мощно заявили американские коллективы Testament, Forbidden, Death Angel и многие другие. В девяностые голы стало ясно, что трэш-метал, как и другие стили рок-музыки, эволюционируют и становятся очередным этапом развития рока в целом. Трэш в этом плане стал прародителем таких стилей, как грув-метал, трэшкор, кроссовер, техно-трэш и хардкор. Позднее, с появлением отдельных новых элементов и особенностей звучания или манеры исполнения, стали применяться разные термины, обозначающие новые направления рока, но по сути, остающиеся тем же «тяжёлым» роком.

Сегодня в терминологии, обозначающей ту или иную «тяжелятину» можно запутаться — настолько её много, настолько и стал многообразен мир этой музыки. Значения же трэш-метал для мировой рок-культуры трудно переоценить, так как во все периоды своего существования, при всех взлётах и падениях тяжёлая «металлическая» музыка была мощным генератором субкультурных процессов в постоянно обновляющейся молодёжной среде. И это, как бы там ни было, довольно значимый вклад в общую палитру глобальной современности.