Kuliev Kaysyn Shuvaevich (1917- 1985)

"I tried not to speak miserable words that degrade human dignity."
Kaisyn Kuliev

Kaisyn Guliyev is a Soviet and Balkarian poet, journalist and war correspondent, whose work became part of the world literary heritage. All his works are an encyclopedia of life and kindness, strength of the people’s spirit and masculinity, love for mother, father and Fatherland. The poet has always been and remains the pride of the Balkar people and the country.

The aul Upper Chegem of Kabardino-Balkaria is its small homeland, and the Lower Chegem is the place where Kaisyn Kuliev attended school. Then there were a pedagogical technical school in Nalchik, and studies in Moscow at the GITIS and the A.M. Literary Institute. Gorky, which he graduated in 1939 year. Poems Kaisyn Kuliev began writing while still at school, and in 1933 his first works were published. In 1940, the first book of lyrics in the native language of the poet was already published and it was called “Hello, morning!” (“Salam, erttenlik!”). In the debut collection of Kaisyn Kuliyev, the features of future great poetry were clearly visible.

The poet went through the whole war. Initially, he was a paratrooper, was wounded, then worked as a war correspondent for the newspaper Son of the Fatherland, and fought again, freeing Moscow, Orel, Ukraine, the Crimea and the Baltic states.

Starting from the 1942 of the year, Kaisyn Kuliev’s poems are published in central newspapers and magazines in Russian translation, are heard on All-Union Radio, and become known to a wide audience. The deportation of his native people in 1944 led the poet to the decision of voluntary exile in Kyrgyzstan, he lived there with his fellow countrymen for ten years, actively participating in the literary life of the republic, but without the right to publish his own works.

The work of Kaisyn Kuliev is a synthesis of the culture of the East, traditions of Russian and world classics. “Poets Kaysyn Kuliev considered Pushkin, Lermontov, Tyutchev, Nizami, Fizuli, Pasternak, Tvardovsky, Byron, Verkharn, Lorca and others to be similar in spirit and creativity to the poets,” wrote Boris Pasternak about the poet and his friend. “World poetry gave me that culture, without which and beyond which it is impossible to become a poet,” Kaysyn Kuliev responded to this.

In the mid-fifties, Kaisyn Kuliev moved to his homeland, in Kabardino-Balkaria. He writes a lot. His work not only became widely known, but also took a strong and significant place in Soviet literature. The poetry collections of poetry are printed in different languages ​​and become the property of a multimillion army of readers: “Bread and Rose” (1957), “Mountains” (1957), “I Came from the Mountains” (1959) and many others.

The subsequent sixties and seventies were the most fruitful for Kuliev, the time of the highest prosperity of his work. Each poet's collection of poems becomes a large-scale literary event: “Fire on the Mountain” (1962), “Wounded Stone” (1964), “Book of the Earth” (1972), “Stars to Burn” (1973), and “Evening” (1974) , "Ears and Stars" (1979) - these are the names of some of them.

Monument to Kaisyn Kuliev. City Nalchik. Photo: https://ru.wikipedia.org
Monument to Kaisyn Kuliev. City Nalchik. Photo: https://ru.wikipedia.org

The last years of his life, despite the serious illness, were no less fruitful for the poet than the previous ones. It was written a lot of collections, most of which came out after the death of Kaisyn Kuliev 4 June 1985. After death, a monument and a memorial were erected in his homeland, where the poet’s books, documents and photographs are kept. The streets, libraries, the House of Culture, schools and museums in various Caucasian republics and even far beyond the region’s borders are named after the great master of the word. At the moment, the works of Kaisyn Kuliev are translated into 140 languages ​​and published in most countries of the world.

No matter how small my people are,
He will survive me anyway
And my land shall be alive, in which the nest
And white dove viet, and black raven.
Kaisyn Kuliev

Кулиев Кайсын Шуваевич (1917- 1985)

«Я старался не говорить жалких слов, унижающих достоинство человека».
Кайсын Кулиев

Кайсын Кулиев — советский и балкарский поэт, журналист и военный корреспондент, творчество которого стало частью мирового литературного достояния. Все его произведения — это энциклопедия жизни и доброты, силы духа народа и мужественности, любви к матери, отцу и Отечеству. Поэт всегда был и остаётся гордостью балкарского народа и страны.

Аул Верхний Чегем Кабардино-Балкарии это его малая родина, а Нижний Чегем — место, где Кайсын Кулиев учился в школе. Затем были педагогический техникум в Нальчике, и учёба в Москве — в ГИТИСе и литературном институте имени А.М. Горького, который он закончил в 1939 году. Стихи Кайсын Кулиев начал писать, ещё учась в школе, а в 1933 году были опубликованы первые его произведения. В 1940 году уже вышла первая книга лирики на родном языке поэта и называлась она «Привет, утро!» («Салам, эрттенлик!»). В дебютном сборнике Кайсына Кулиева уже явно прослеживались черты будущей большой поэзии.

Поэт прошёл всю войну. Вначале был десантником, получил ранение, затем работал военным корреспондентом газеты «Сын отечества», и снова воевал, освобождая Москву, Орёл, Украину, Крым и Прибалтику.

Начиная с 1942 года, стихи Кайсына Кулиева печатаются в центральных газетах и журналах в русском переводе, звучат по Всесоюзному радио, становятся известны широкой аудитории. Депортация родного народа в 1944 году привела поэта к решению добровольной ссылки в Киргизию, вместе с земляками он прожил там десять лет, активно участвуя в литературной жизни республики, но без права издавать собственные произведения.

Творчество Кайсына Кулиева – синтез культуры Востока, традиций русской и мировой классики. «Близкими для себя по духу и творчеству поэтами Кайсын Кулиев считал Пушкина, Лермонтова, Тютчева, Низами, Физули, Пастернака, Твардовского, Байрона, Верхарна, Лорку и других» — так писал о поэте и своём друге Борис Пастернак. «Мировая поэзия дала мне ту культуру, без которой и вне которой поэтом стать нельзя», — ответил на это Кайсын Кулиев.

В середине пятидесятых Кайсын Кулиев переехал на родину, в Кабардино-Балкарию. Много пишет. Его творчество не только стало широко известным, но и заняло прочное и значимое место в советской литературе. Печатаются на разных языках и становятся достоянием многомиллионной армии читателей сборники стихов поэта: «Хлеб и роза» (1957), «Горы» (1957), «Я пришел с гор» (1959) и многие другие.

Последующие шестидесятые и семидесятые годы стали самыми плодотворными для Кулиева, временем наивысшего расцвета его творчества. Каждый сборник стихов поэта становится литературным событием большого масштаба: «Огонь на горе» (1962), «Раненый камень» (1964), «Книга земли» (1972), «Звездам — гореть» (1973), «Вечер» (1974), «Колосья и звезды» (1979) — вот названия некоторых из них.

Памятник Кайсыну Кулиеву. Город Нальчик. Фото: https://ru.wikipedia.org
Памятник Кайсыну Кулиеву. Город Нальчик. Фото: https://ru.wikipedia.org

Последние годы жизни, несмотря на тяжёлую болезнь, были не менее плодотворными для поэта, чем предыдущие. Было написано много сборников, большая часть которых вышла уже после смерти Кайсына Кулиева 4 июня 1985 года. После смерти, на его родине был установлен памятник и мемориал, где хранятся книги, документы и фотографии поэта. В честь великого мастера слова названы улицы, библиотеки, Дома культуры, школы и музеи в разных кавказских республиках и даже далеко за пределами региона. На данный момент произведения Кайсына Кулиева переведены на 140 языков и изданы в большинстве стран мира.

Каким бы малым ни был мой народ,
Он все равно меня переживет,
И будет жив мой край, гнездо в котором
И белый голубь вьет, и черный ворон.
Кайсын Кулиев