The band “Papa Roach” appeared on the horizon of musical Olympus in an era when grunge inexorably lost its positions, and soon, with the death of the leader of Nirvana, in 1994, it completely ceased to exist.

The alternative scene relentlessly reborn and young teams appeared like mushrooms after the rain, while sounding equally similar. The ugly grunge rink, which passed through the rock scene in those years, spared not many, foreshadowing a new wave in music - nu metal.

Corporate identity "Papa Roach"

Limp Bizkit, led by their undisputed leader Fred Durst, were popular and recorded the soundtracks for Hollywood blockbusters, along with Metallica, and Linkin Park had not recorded their most successful 21 20th century rock album, Hybrid Theory. " It was at that time that the Papa Roach band came into the view of a wide audience with the release of their album “Infest” in 2000, with the hit video “Last resort”:


Clutching guitar riffs, powerful rhythm section. backed up by the vocalist’s machine-gun recitative, it all became the signature style of the American team, originally from a small town in California that got its name, in honor of their frontman's grandfather. They were long and hard to ensure that one of the major labels of the Warner Music Group noticed their music one day and offered the band a recording contract. Since this all started…

But it was a story almost 20 years old. Since then, the team has released 32 single, 9 EP, one live and 8 studio albums. Today we will talk about the latest license plate "Crooked Teeth" and video shot on the songs from it. It came out almost a year ago - in May 2017 of the year, having received, in general, positive reviews from critics.

Premiere of the video "None of The Above"

In total, 3's video “Help” (straight alternative rock), “Periscope feat.Skylar Gray” (mainstream radio-oriented pop song) and, recently released, “None of The Above” (unattended and rough rock track filmed in dilapidated locations of the Beaufort castle in Luxembourg with the participation of the dance group "Dance Xperience"). The clip was directed by Bryson Roach, known from past projects of “Papa Roach”, such as “American Dream”, “TRAUMATIC”, as well as successful work with “All Time Low”, “Nothing But Thieves”, “Saint Asonia” and others.

Videoclip "None of The Above" was completely removed in the dilapidated locations of the castle Beaufort in Luxembourg
Videoclip "None of The Above" was entirely removed in the dilapidated locations of the castle Beaufort in Luxembourg

The location itself is a cult tourist destination: about 100 thousand tourists from all over the world visit Beaufort every year. The ancient castle primarily attracts attention with its prison and a very eloquent torture chamber, where, as usual, all sorts of tools and devices are in abundance.

The album "Crooked Teeth" includes 13 songs of very different directions, and content. The online edition of Loudwire praised the mix of old and new band sounds:

“Obviously, Papa Roach doesn’t go too far beyond what made them so attractive both at the beginning of their career and in recent years. For nearly a quarter of a century they are in the game and continue to be relevant when many of their peers were forgotten. What is most attractive in a group - besides their more than amazing durability, is that she constantly tries to find a balance between the old and the new. ”

Группа «Papa Roach» появилась на горизонте музыкального Олимпа в эру, когда грандж неумолимо сдавал свои позиции, а вскоре, со смертью лидера «Nirvana», в 1994 году и вовсе прекратил свое существование.

Альтернативная сцена же неумолимо перерождалась и молодые команды появлялись как грибы после дождя, звуча при этом одинаково похоже. Уродливый каток гранджа, прошедшийся по рок-сцене в те годы, пощадил не многих, предвещая новую волну в музыке – ню-метал.

Фирменный стиль «Papa Roach»

«Limp Bizkit», во главе с их бессменным лидером Фредом Дарстом, были популярны и записывали саундтреки к голливудским блокбастерам, вместе с «Metallica», а группа «Linkin Park» еще не записала свой самый успешный дебютный рок альбом 21-го века “Hybrid Theory”. Именно в это время в поле зрения широкой аудитории и попала группа «Papa Roach» с выходом их альбома “Infest” в 2000 году, с хитовым клипом “Last resort”:


Цепляющие гитарные рифы, мощная ритмсекция. подкрепленная пулеметным речитативом вокалиста, – все это стало фирменным стилем американской команды, родом из небольшого городка в Калифорнии, получившей свое название, в честь прадеда их фронтмена. Они долго и упорно шли к тому, чтобы в один день их музыку заметил один из мейджор-лейблов «Warner Music Group» и предложил группе контракт на запись. С этого все и началось…

Но это была история почти 20-летней давности. С тех пор команда выпустила 32 сингла, 9 EP, один живой и 8 студийных альбомов. Сегодня же пойдет речь о последней номерной пластинке “Crooked Teeth” и видео снятых на песни с нее. Вышла она почти год назад – в мае 2017 года, получив, в целом, положительные отзывы от критиков.

Премьера клипа “None of The Above”

Всего в поддержку альбома было снято 3 видео “Help” (прямолинейный альтернативный рок), “Periscope feat.Skylar Grey” (мэйнстримовая радиориентированная поп песня) и, вышедший на днях, “None of The Above” (неприлизанный и шероховатый рок трек снятый в полуразрушенных локациях замка Бофор в Люксембурге с участием танцевального коллектива “Dance Xperience”). Режиссёром клипа выступил Брайсон Роуч, известный по прошлым проектам «Papa Roach», таким как “American Dream”, «TRAUMATIC», а также успешной работой с “All Time Low”, “Nothing But Thieves”, “Saint Asonia” и другими.

Видеклип "None of The Above" был целиком снят в полуразрушенных локациях замка Бофор в Люксембурге
Видеклип “None of The Above” был целиком снят в полуразрушенных локациях замка Бофор в Люксембурге

Сама локация является культовым туристическим местом: ежегодно Бофор посещают порядка 100 тыс. туристов со всего мира. Древний замок в первую очередь привлекает внимание своей тюрьмой и весьма красноречивой камерой пыток, где, как водится, в изобилии выставлены всевозможные орудия и приспособления.

В альбом “Crooked Teeth” вошли 13 песен очень разной направленности, и содержания. Сетевое издание «Loudwire» похвалило смесь старых и новых звуков группы:

«Очевидно, что «Papa Roach» не слишком заходят за пределы того, что сделало их настолько привлекательными как в начале их карьеры, так и в последние годы. Почти в течение четверти века они в игре и продолжают оставаться актуальными, когда многие из их сверстников были забыты. Что наиболее привлекательно в группе – кроме их более чем восхитительной долговечности, это то, что она постоянно пытается найти баланс между старым и новым”.