4000-year history of dombra

At the end of the last century, a rock drawing of the Neolithic period depicting four dancing people and a musical instrument was discovered in Kazakhstan high in the mountains. The drawing of an ancient artist depicted a pear-shaped instrument very similar to dombra (a two-string folk musical instrument of the Kazakhs and Nogai). It turns out that the prototype of the current dombra is more than 4000 years old and is one of the first plucked - the forerunner of modern musical instruments of this kind.

From written monuments dombra and related tools of other nations on the Eurasian continent are well known from ancient times.

Dombra on the Kazakhstan silver coin in 500 tenge. Photo courtesy http://silkadv.com
Dombra on the Kazakhstan silver coin in 500 tenge. Photo courtesy http://silkadv.com

So, for example, Saka nomadic tribes used two-stringed musical instruments similar to dombra, more than 2000 years ago. And during the excavations of Khorezm (an ancient region and a state centered on the lower reaches of the Amudarya River, now the territory of Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan), terracotta figurines were found depicting musicians playing plucked instruments. Scientists note that the Khorezm two-strings, which existed at least 2000 years ago, are similar to the dombra and were one of the common tools among the early nomads who lived in Kazakhstan.

Also, the mention of the dombra is found in the writings of the famous traveler Marco Polo: “This tool was present among the warriors of the Turkic nomads, who at that time in Russia were called Tatars. They sang and played on him before the battle, to achieve the appropriate attitude. "

Legends about the origin of dombra

There are several legends about the origin of dombra, here are the most interesting ones:

The appearance of the dombra. Photo courtesy http://wikipedia.org
The appearance of the dombra. Photo courtesy http://wikipedia.org

Juchi Khan was the eldest and beloved son of Genghis Khan and the father of Khan Baty. Hunting in the Kypchak steppes, Juchi Khan was brought down from his horse and torn to pieces by the leader of the herd of kulans. No one dared to inform the terrible Genghis Khan of the tragic death of his beloved son. A black messenger was awaiting a cruel execution. Genghis Khan promised to inform him about the death of his son to pour molten lead down the throat. Khan's nukers found a way out. They brought a simple dombrist named Ket-Bug to Genghis Khan’s headquarters and instructed him to voice the terrible news. Ket-Bug did not utter a word in front of the eyes of the formidable Khan. He just played his kyuy (music for the dombra) "Aksak kulan" (Lame kulan). The beautiful music of the great Zhyrau Ket-Bug conveyed to Khan the stern truth about barbaric cruelty and inglorious death. Angry Genghis Khan, remembering his threat, ordered the execution of the dombra. It is said that since then a hole remained on the top deck of the dombra - a trace of molten lead. The mausoleum of Juchi Khan is preserved on the banks of the ancient river Kara-Kengir in the Dzhezkazgan region.

Girl with dombra. Kazakhstan. Photo courtesy of http://fadn.gov.ru
Girl with dombra. Kazakhstan. Photo courtesy of http://fadn.gov.ru

Another legend about the origin of dombra says that in ancient times two giant brothers lived in Altai. The younger brother had a dombra, in which he loved to play. How to play, so idler about everything in the world forgets. The elder brother was arrogant and conceited. Once he wanted to become famous, for which he decided to build a bridge over a stormy and cold river. He began to collect stones, began to build a bridge. And the younger brother plays everything, yes it plays.
So the day passed, and the other, and the third. The younger brother is not in a hurry to help the elder; he only knows that he is playing his favorite instrument. The older brother got angry, snatched the younger dombra from it and, having had the strength, hit it on the rock. A magnificent instrument crashed, the melody was silenced, but an imprint remained on the stone.
Many years later. People found this imprint, began to make new dombras on it, and again the music began in the villages that were silent for a long time.

The modern history of dombra

In the Kazakh people they say: “Naқyz қazak - Kazakқ Yemes, naғyz azak қ - dombyra!”, Which means “a real Kazakh is not a Kazakh, a real Kazakh is a dombra!”. This underlines the importance of the ability to play dombra for each Kazakh, which emphasizes the special love of the Kazakhs for this instrument and this is true, because dombra is the most popular Kazakh musical instrument, but other nations have similar dombra instruments.

The modern history of dombra. On the photo - Islam Satyrov
The modern history of dombra. On the photo - Islam Satyrov

So, in Russian culture there is a tool similar in form - Domra, and the well-known Russian balalaika, according to one theory, is considered to originate from dombra. In Tajik culture there is a similar instrument - Dumrak, in Turkmen culture - Dutar, Bash, Dumbyra, in Uzbek, Bashkir and Nogai culture - Dumbyr, in Azerbaijani and Turkish culture - Saz, in Yakut - Tansyr. These instruments differ in quantity (up to 3 strings) as well as in the material of the strings.

Modern dombra has a pear-shaped body and neck with 19 frets. Despite the fact that the instrument has only two strings, its musical range is two full octaves (from D of the minor octave to D of the second octave). The instrument usually has a quart or quinte scale. Traditionally, the strings used on the dombra were gangue, made from sheep or goat intestines. But the most suitable sound was ordinary fishing line. As a result, today we have the only, widespread type of dombra of standard form with strings of fishing line.

Dombra species. Museum in Kazakhstan. Photo courtesy https://www.zakon.kz
Dombra species. Museum in Kazakhstan. Photo courtesy https://www.zakon.kz

Dombra was widely adopted as an accompanying, solo, as well as the main instrument in the Kazakh and Nogai music. The instrument has recently undergone significant changes: dombra orchestral variations have appeared, the volume has increased, the range of sound has increased - dombras of high and low registers have appeared. The instrument, because of its unusual timbre and bright ethnic expression, is often used in modern popular music.

The unique work of Islam Satyrov

One of the artists who actively uses dombra and other national instruments in his work, which I would like to talk about today, is Islam Satyrov (Islam Satyrov). Received a musical education in the Astrakhan Music School. M.P. Mussorgsky, he, nevertheless, did not forget the slander of his adolescence, and as a musician who lives today, creates an absolutely unique material that continues the traditions of the Nogai people, bringing to the masses the culture and musical heritage of their homeland.

Islam recently released its debut album.

In the music of this talented person, who performed from the first to the last all parts in the album, called “Zaman”, which in translation into Russian means “time”, modern trends with ethnic motifs are closely intertwined.

The songs of the plate are a reflection of what each of us faces during our life - love, affection, family ties, national pride. From the first to the last note, the recording was performed by the musician himself using rare acoustic instruments to give a new life to the ancient melodies and rhythms of his people.

Listen to the dombra of Islam Satyrov

Photos in the top from the site BNews.kz

4000-летняя история домбры

В конце прошлого века в Казахстане высоко в горах был обнаружен наскальный рисунок периода неолита с изображением четырёх танцующих человек и музыкального инструмента. Рисунок древнего художника изображал инструмент грушевидной формы сильно похожий на домбру (двухструнный народный музыкальный инструмент казахов и ногайцев). Оказывается, прототип нынешней домбры имеет возраст более 4000 лет и является одним из первых щипковых – предтечей современных музыкальных инструментов подобного вида.

По письменным памятникам домбра и родственные ей инструменты других народов на евразийском континенте хорошо известны с давних времен.

Домбра на Казахстанской серебряной монете в 500 тенге. Фото предоставлено http://silkadv.com
Домбра на Казахстанской серебряной монете в 500 тенге. Фото предоставлено http://silkadv.com

Так, к примеру, сакские кочевые племена использовали двухструнные музыкальные инструменты схожие с домброй, более 2000 лет назад. А во время раскопок Хорезма (древний регион и государство с центром в низовьях реки Амударья, ныне территории Узбекистана и Туркменистана) были найдены терракотовые статуэтки, изображающие музыкантов, играющих на щипковых инструментах. Ученые отмечают, что хорезмийские двухструнки, бытовавшие не менее 2000 лет назад, имеют сходство с домброй и были одним из распространенных инструментов среди ранних кочевников, живших на территории Казахстана.

Также упоминание о домбре встречается в трудах известного путешественника Марко Поло: «этот инструмент присутствовал у воинов тюрков-кочевников, которых в то время на Руси называли татарами. Они пели и играли на нём перед боем, для достижения соответствующего настроя».

Легенды о происхождении домбры

Существует несколько легенд о происхождении домбры, вот самые интересные из них:

Внешний вид домбры. Фото предоставлено http://wikipedia.org
Внешний вид домбры. Фото предоставлено http://wikipedia.org

Джучи-хан был старшим и любимым сыном Чингисхана и отцом хана Батыя. Охотившийся в кыпчакских степях, Джучи-хан был сбит с лошади и растерзан вожаком стада куланов. Никто не осмеливался известить грозного Чингисхана о трагической смерти его любимого сына. Чёрного вестника ожидала жестокая казнь. Чингисхан обещал сообщившему ему о смерти сына залить в глотку расплавленный свинец. Нукеры хана нашли выход из положения. Они привели в ставку Чингисхана простого домбриста по имени Кет-Буга и поручили тому озвучить страшную весть. Кет-Буга перед очами грозного хана не произнёс ни слова. Он просто сыграл свой кюй (муз.жанр для домбры) «Аксак кулан» (Хромой кулан). Прекрасная музыка великого жырау Кет-Буга донесла до хана суровую правду о варварской жестокости и бесславной смерти. Разгневанный Чингисхан, помня о своей угрозе, велел казнить домбру. Говорят, что с тех пор на верхней деке домбры так и осталось отверстие – след расплавленного свинца. Мавзолей Джучи-хана сохранился на берегу древней реки Кара-Кенгир в Джезказганской области.

Девушка с домброй. Казахстан. Фото предоставлено http://fadn.gov.ru
Девушка с домброй. Казахстан. Фото предоставлено http://fadn.gov.ru

Еще одна легенда о происхождении домбры гласит, что в давние времена на Алтае жили два брата-великана. У младшего брата была домбра, на которой он очень любил играть. Как заиграет, так бездельник обо всём на свете забывает. Старший же брат был самолюбивым и тщеславным. Однажды он захотел прославиться, для чего решил построить мост через бурную и холодную реку. Стал камни собирать, начал мост строить. А младший брат всё играет, да играет.
Так день прошёл, и другой, и третий. Не спешит младший брат на помощь старшему, только и знает, что играет на любимом инструменте. Разозлился старший брат, выхватил у младшего домбру и, что было силы, ударил ею о скалу. Разбился великолепный инструмент, смолкла мелодия, но остался на камне отпечаток.
Прошло много лет. Нашли люди этот отпечаток, стали по нему новые домбры делать, и вновь зазвучала музыка в молчавших долгое время селениях.

Современная история домбры

В казахском народе говорят: «Нағыз қазақ – қазақ емес, нағыз қазақ – домбыра!», что означает «настоящий казах это не сам казах, настоящий казах – домбра!». Тем самым подчеркивается важность умения играть на домбре для каждого казаха, что подчеркивает особую любовь казахов к этому инструменту и это действительно так, ведь домбра — самый популярный казахский музыкальный инструмент, но инструменты подобные домбре есть и у других народов.

Современная история домбры. На фото - Ислам Сатыров
Современная история домбры. На фото — Ислам Сатыров

Так, в русской культуре есть схожий по форме инструмент — Домра, а известная русская балалайка, по одной из теорий, считается произошедшей именно от домбры. В таджикской культуре есть схожий инструмент – Думрак, в туркменской культуре – Дутар, Баш, Думбыра, в узбекской, башкирской и ногайской культуре – Думбыра, в азербайджанской и турецкой культуре – Саз, в якутской – Тансыр. Отличаются эти инструменты количеством (до 3 струн), а также материалом струн.

Современная домбра имеет грушевидный корпус и гриф с 19 ладами. Несмотря на то, что инструмент имеет всего две струны, музыкальный диапазон ее составляет две полных октавы (от Ре малой октавы до Ре второй октавы). Инструмент обычно имеет квартовый или квинтовый строй. Традиционно струны, использовавшиеся на домбре, были жильные, изготавливаемые из бараньих или козьих кишок. Но наиболее подходящей по звучанию оказалась обычная рыболовная леска. Как результат сегодня мы имеем единственный, широко распространённый вид домбры стандартной формы со струнами из лески.

Разновидности домбры. Музей в Казахстане. Фото предоставлено https://www.zakon.kz
Разновидности домбры. Музей в Казахстане. Фото предоставлено https://www.zakon.kz

Домбра получила широкое распространение в качестве аккомпанирующего, сольного, а также основного инструмента в казахской и ногайской музыке. Инструмент в последнее время претерпел значительные изменения: появились оркестровые разновидности домбры, увеличилась громкость, расширился диапазон звучания – появились домбры высокого и низкого регистров. Инструмент из-за своего необычного тембра и яркой этнической выраженности часто используется в современной популярной музыке.

Уникальное творчество Ислама Сатырова

Одним из артистов активно использующем в своем творчестве домбру и другие национальные инструменты, о котором хотелось бы рассказать сегодня, является Ислам Сатыров (Islam Satyrov). Получив музыкальное образование в Астраханском музыкальном училище им. М.П. Мусоргского, он, тем не менее, не забыл наветов своего отрочества, и как музыкант, живущий сегодня, создает абсолютно уникальный материал, продолжающий традиции ногайского народа, несущий в массы культуру и музыкальное наследие своей родины.

Недавно Ислам выпустил свой дебютный альбом.

В музыке этого талантливого человека, исполнившего от первой до последней все партии в альбоме, получившем название «Zaman», что в переводе на русский означает «время», тесно переплелись современные веяния с этническими мотивами.

Песни пластинки – это отражение того, с чем в течение жизни сталкивается каждый из нас — любовь, привязанность, родственные узы, национальная гордость. От первой до последней ноты запись была исполнена самим музыкантом с использованием редких акустических инструментов для придания новой жизни старинным мелодиям и ритмам своего народа.

Слушать домбру Ислама Сатырова

Фото в топе с сайта BNews.kz