In the Armenian village of Arinj under the ground, at the depth of 21 meters there is a temple, where tourists go down to pray, put a candle and make a wish. A resident of the village, Levon Arakelyan, built this temple, whom his wife once asked to dig a regular pit for storing potatoes in the basement ...

Underground temple in Arinj village
Underground temple in Arinj village

The industrious Levon, who once worked as a builder, readily responded to his wife’s request and began to dig. Yes, that's just the usual pit business is not over. When the master realized that the stony soil favored the underground construction, he decided to build a wine cellar there. But at the same time, the man had a dream in which he saw the temple, and Levon decided to make this vision a reality.

Underground temple in Arinj village
Underground temple in Arinj village

In 1985, the 44-year-old master began the construction of an underground temple. He worked on 17 hours a day, moving about 7 each time. At first, the work was very hard, due to the characteristics of the upper ground, but ten years later, the basalt changed to tuff, and the process flowed faster and easier. From the tools Levon used only a hammer and a chisel, with the help of which he cut out all the columns, stairs and even sculptures. Month after month the number of tunnels and halls grew, increasing the area of ​​the temple.

Underground temple in Arinj village
Underground temple in Arinj village

It took 23 to build it. Then, at the age of 67, the master died of a heart attack. According to his wife, he planned to work on building more 30 years, during which he was to build 70 halls.

Underground temple in Arinj village
Underground temple in Arinj village

Now the temple is a favorite place for tourists who come here to admire the work of Levon and make a wish.

To get to the first hall, people one by one climb the stairs from 80 steps. Also in the building is a hall dedicated to the memory of the master himself. There you can see his clothes, shoes and tools.

В армянском селе Ариндж под землей, на глубине 21 метра есть храм, куда спускаются туристы, чтобы помолиться, поставить свечу и загадать желание. Построил этот храм житель села — Левон Аракелян, которого жена попросила однажды выкопать в подвале обычную яму для хранения картофеля…

Подземный храм в селе Ариндж
Подземный храм в селе Ариндж

Трудолюбивый Левон, некогда работавший строителем, с готовностью откликнулся на просьбу жены и стал копать. Да вот только обычной ямой дело не закончилось. Когда мастер понял, что каменистая почва благоприятствует подземной стройке, он решил соорудить там винный погреб. Но в тот же период мужчине приснился сон, в котором он увидел храм, и Левон решил сделать это видение явью.

Подземный храм в селе Ариндж
Подземный храм в селе Ариндж

В 1985 году 44-летний мастер начал строительство подземного храма. Он работал по 17 часов в день, продвигаясь каждый раз примерно на 7 см. Сначала работа шла очень тяжело, из-за особенностей верхнего грунта, но, спустя десять лет, базальт сменился на туф, и процесс потек быстрее и легче. Из инструментов Левон использовал лишь молоток и долото, с помощью которых он вырезал все колонны, лестницы и даже скульптуры. Месяц за месяцем количество тоннелей и залов росло, увеличивая площадь храма.

Подземный храм в селе Ариндж
Подземный храм в селе Ариндж

На строительство его ушло 23 года. Затем, в возрасте 67 лет, мастер умер от инфаркта. Как рассказывает его жена, он планировал трудиться над строительством еще 30 лет, за которые должен был построить 70 залов.

Подземный храм в селе Ариндж
Подземный храм в селе Ариндж

Сейчас храм является излюбленным местом туристов, приезжающих сюда, чтобы полюбоваться работой Левона и загадать желание.

Чтобы попасть в первый зал, люди по одному преодолевают лестницу из 80 ступеней. Также в здании находится и зал, посвященный памяти самого мастера. Там можно увидеть его одежду, обувь и инструменты.