Opening of the 13th Irish Film Festival in Russia!

Latest Premieres

For many years, the Irish Film Festival in Russia has remained an integral part of the large-scale IRISH WEEK holiday and this year is being held in four cities of the country: St. Petersburg, Yekaterinburg, Novosibirsk and Moscow.

The official opening of the Irish Film Festival took place on March 11, and the audience got acquainted with the first picture - the comedy “A Pair of Normal” (Extra Ordinary), presented at the “October” cinema center.

But! First things first ... We invite you to plunge into the atmosphere of the backstage of the holiday with us and find out all the details of yesterday’s event.

It all started in the capital's ABBEY PLAYERS pub, which is inspired by the history and scenery of the Abbey National Irish Theater in Dublin. Here
held a press conference on the opening of the Irish Film Festival. Journalists met with organizers and foreign guests, who in an informal setting answered questions from the press and talked about what awaits lovers of Irish culture in the next 10 days.

Gerard Michael McCarthy, co-founder of IRISH WEEK and the Irish Film Festival in Moscow, introduced his colleagues to journalists, read out a letter from Brian McElduff, Irish Ambassador to the Russian Federation, and also introduced the audience to actor Barry Ward, who specially attended the Irish Film Festival in Russia to present the film “ Pair of normal".

The actor thanked for the invitation, noted that in the atmosphere of the pub “ABBEY PLAYERS” felt at home and expressed hope that the film in which he played the main role would appeal to the audience.

Barry Ward. Irish Film Festival in Russia 2020
Barry Ward. Irish Film Festival in Russia 2020

According to Anna Gryaznova, director of the Irish Film Festival and director of IRISH WEEK, this year the audience will see a selection of horror films, which is symbolic, since even the date “Friday, 13” fell on the festival.

Anna Gryaznova, Director of Irish Film Festival in Russia. 2020
Anna Gryaznova, Director of Irish Film Festival in Russia. 2020

How else is the 13th festival different from the previous ones, and what are its main goals, Gerard Michael McCarthy told us.

The musical premiere of the day was the presentation of the track of the project "S for 7" - "Runaway". Since yesterday, the song has been available on all major digital platforms.


    

After the press conference, the first guests of the Irish Film Festival in Russia visited the Oktyabr cinema center, on the stage of which the official opening of the Irish Film Festival was held, where Gerard Michael McCarthy, Anna Gryaznova and Barry Ward (“The End of the *** World”, performed "Pair of normal").

The official opening of the Irish Film Festival "Irish Film Festival in Russia". 2020
The official opening of the Irish Film Festival "Irish Film Festival in Russia". 2020

Then the screening of the film “A Pair of Normal” (ExtraOrdinary) took place. Black humor in the spirit of Monty Python and subtle acting have provided this film with critical acclaim and a 100 percent rating on the authoritative resource RottenTomatoes.

The audience was completely delighted with the comedy and applauded warmly after watching. A pleasant surprise for the audience was the fact that Barry Ward not only presented the film, but also at the end of the session answered questions from the audience, discussing with them the details of the picture.

Lovers of Irish culture still have a lot of memorable meetings, exciting films and interesting events. Irish Film Festival in Russia will be held from March 11 to 22, so you still have time to take part in this exciting holiday. The schedule of events and film screenings can be found on the sites: irishweek.ru and karofilm.ru

Similar articles

Fresh premieres

Join us online

2 050 000Subscribers
40 270Readers
69 430Followers
68 260subscribers
12 277in the community
15 440Fans

Channel "Sound-M" on YouTube. Subscribe to Caucasus videos!

Popular articles

«Irish Film Festival in Russia» на протяжении многих лет остается неотъемлемой частью масштабного праздника IRISH WEEK и в этом году проходит в четырех городах страны: Санкт-Петербурге, Екатеринбурге, Новосибирске и в Москве.

11 марта состоялось официальное открытие Ирландского кинофестиваля, и публика познакомилась с первой картиной – комедией «Пара нормальных» (Extra Ordinary), презентованной в киноцентре «Октябрь».

Но! Обо всем по порядку… Предлагаем вам вместе с нами окунуться в атмосферу закулисья праздника и узнать все подробности вчерашнего мероприятия.

Началось все в столичном пабе «ABBEY PLAYERS», обстановка которого вдохновлёна историей и декорациями Национального ирландского театра Abbey в Дублине. Тут
прошла пресс-конференция открытия Ирландского кинофестиваля. Журналисты встретились с организаторами и иностранными гостями, которые в неформальной обстановке ответили на вопросы прессы и рассказали о том, что ждет любителей ирландской культуры в ближайшие 10 дней.

Сососнователь IRISH WEEK и Фестиваля ирландского кино в Москве Джерард Майкл МакКарти представил журналистам своих коллег, зачитал письмо посла Ирландии в РФ Брайана МакЭлдаффа и также познакомил публику с актёром Барри Уордом, который специально приехал на «Irish Film Festival in Russia», чтобы презентовать фильм «Пара нормальных».

Актер поблагодарил за приглашение, отметил, что в обстановке паба «ABBEY PLAYERS» чувствует себя как дома и выразил надежду, что фильм, в котором он сыграл главную роль, понравится зрителям.

Барри Уорд. «Irish Film Festival in Russia» 2020
Барри Уорд. «Irish Film Festival in Russia» 2020

По словам Анны Грязновой, директора фестиваля ирландского кино и директора «IRISH WEEK», в этом году публику ожидает подборка фильмов в жанре хоррор, что символично, так как на период проведения фестиваля выпала даже дата «пятница, 13».

Анна Грязнова, директор «Irish Film Festival in Russia». 2020
Анна Грязнова, директор «Irish Film Festival in Russia». 2020

Чем еще отличается 13-ый фестиваль от предыдущих, и какие главные цели преследует, нам рассказал Джерард Майкл МакКарти.

Музыкальной премьерой дня стала презентация трека проекта «S for 7» – «Runaway». Со вчерашнего дня песня доступна на всех крупнейших цифровых площадках.


    

После пресс-конференции первые гости «Irish Film Festival in Russia» посетили киноцентр «Октябрь», на сцене которого состоялось официальное открытие Ирландского кинофестиваля, на котором выступили Джерард Майкл МакКарти, Анна Грязнова и Барри Уорд («Конец ***го мира», «Пара нормальных»).

Официальное открытие Ирландского кинофестиваля «Irish Film Festival in Russia». 2020
Официальное открытие Ирландского кинофестиваля «Irish Film Festival in Russia». 2020

Затем состоялся показ фильма «Пара нормальных» (ExtraOrdinary). Чёрный юмор в духе Монти Пайтона и тонкая актёрская игра обеспечили этому фильму признание критиков и 100-процентный рейтинг на авторитетном ресурсе RottenTomatoes.

Публика пришла в полный восторг от комедии и горячо аплодировала после просмотра. Приятным сюрпризом для зрителей стало и то, что Барри Уорд не только представил фильм, но и по окончании сеанса ответил на вопросы зрителей, обсудив с ними детали картины.

Впереди у любителей ирландской культуры еще множество запоминающихся встреч, увлекательных фильмов и интересных мероприятий. «Irish Film Festival in Russia» пройдет с 11 по 22 марта, так что вы еще успеете принять участие в этом захватывающем празднике. С расписанием мероприятий и кинопоказов можно познакомиться на сайтах: irishweek.ru и karofilm.ru