Hip Hop: Origins

Many famous rappers say that hip-hop is the answer to the dominance of monotonous disco music in America in the seventies. In fact, hip-hop has direct and meaningful origins in this particular dance style. For more than a decade, until the appearance of their own compositions, hip-hop DJs played disco. Hip-hop is primarily DJ music, as it was originally created with two turntables and a microphone. It appeared as a synthesis of disco and a number of original techniques for working with Technics vinyl turntables. 1200 young DJs in the Bronx (New York area), independently learned the phenomenal possession of layers.

Music genres. Hip-hop. Photo from the site http://kamey-tlt.ru

The most attentive DJs of those years understood that many visitors to clubs begin to move more expressively not only to certain music, but also to certain parts of it. Further, and in accordance with the number one DJ law - in every possible way to support such bursts of energy - they only repeated these individual pieces over and over again. This is how a completely new style of "live" music was born. Despite the fact that hip-hop as a style, in the arrangement of compositions, collected from excerpts from other styles of music (now it is a technology for sampling individual sounds and loops), qualitatively influenced the idea of ​​modern music and its creativity, it also significantly changed the technology of sound recording and copyright regulations. It is known that sampling, copying and recording of cover versions were born long before hip-hop, but the world of the music business has not yet met the large-scale and frank arrogance of hip-hop DJs, mixing everything and reading recitative over their mix. Digital sampling, introduced in the eighties, made this process a breeze. Today, three great figures are generally recognized as the founders of hip-hop: Clive Campbell (aka Cool Hurk), who invented breakbeats (repetitive breaks), Grandmaster Flash, the great master of club madness, and Africa Bambaataa, a musical polyglot and sound magician.

Hip-hop: subculture

Rap

Simplified - recitative superimposed on a beat. In the homeland of hip-hop it is called "rapping", in Russia - "reading". It was hip-hop that made the reading energetic, engaging and massive.

Cool Hurk, listening to dub toasting, made his MCs the "excitement" of the crowd, he opened a new era for MCs. Hip-hop borrowed an already well-known form of recitative, but developed it anew. Thanks to the combination of groovy rhythm and expressive MC work, this form quickly gained popularity. The first famous MCs (translated as "microfon controller - head of the microphone") were Covboy (partner of Grandmaster Flash), Melle Mel, Africa Bambaataa, later - rapper LL Cool.

Brakedance

The first source of breakdancing is a simple husk dance borrowed from disco dancers. The second source is the manifestation of masculine prowess in the convulsive, robotic movements of the funk dancers and the dance-like convulsions of funk star James Brown.

Breakdance was also influenced by such styles as tap and lindy, as well as some sports movements from kung fu. “Break” in the name of the dance is a jazz term for a segment of a composition with a drummer’s solo play. In the early seventies of the last century, breakdance included only “up-rocking” (fast circular steps and other leg movements preceding acrobatic elements). Later, "power movements" (for example, rotation on the head or back), and a number of other specific elements of the dance appeared. Dancing break began to be called b-boys (b-boys). The letter “b” meant “break”, but it can also be understood as “Bronx”. The harsh “b-boy stand” (arms folded on the chest, head tilted down), beloved by rappers today, was not only a demonstration of readiness for aggression, but also a characteristic pose of a dancer preparing for a break.

Turntablism

“Hands fly from one plate to another, having time to touch the crossfader with lightning speed, the shoulders barely noticeable, without interfering with the clarity of actions, rise and fall in time with the rhythm, the movements of the fingers are verified with millimeter precision, every flick, slide or slave is measured“ as in drugstore ”, and from the speakers rushes a powerful beat, strewn with scribbles and scratches; the naked skeleton of the song is repeated over and over again, and suddenly explodes with the culmination of a new track "- this is how they wrote about the most difficult and most revered art of a DJ to create miracles with sound and vinyl at the same time. This made a strong impression. But in the beginning there was scratching. Having mastered it, the DJ could shred records so finely that he was able to create compositions by manipulating sounds (individual notes, beats or noises), like any other musician! In the development of this form of DJing, whole ensembles appeared, playing on several turntables, where each of the DJs - musicians was responsible for his own layer of the song - a bass line, a rhythm part or a melody. Soon, even a whole system of musical notation for tourntablists was developed. Finally, there was a method in which the basic scratch could be layered by tricky manipulation of the mixer crossfader. He was given the name "transforming". The method made scratching absolutely flexible and more effective, allowing the DJ to precisely control the sound. Today, a simple scratch is a rarity. A real tourntablist can explain to you the difference between chirp, tweak, scribble, tair, steb transform, seaplane, flair, orbit, tweedle and crab.

Battles

Verbal sparring, intricate poetic boasting about yourself, your beloved and your "awesome" DJ, and, on the contrary, humiliation and muddying your opponent. Battles are another part of the hip-hop subculture. They were held often, and are popular in our time, but they were not built on any rules, but simply on agreements on when, who and how long should perform. The battles were not held because of something more serious than the desire of rappers to surpass each other. The winner of the battle just increased his authority and gained new fans of his next show.

Hip hop genre today

The eighties and early nineties hip hop fully exploited its past. Numerous rappers sought to appear poorer, meaner, and even "blacker" than others, forgetting undeniable historical facts. The discoverers of the Hirk or Flash, although revered as respected ancestors, were already of little interest to them, unlike the new-fashioned MTV-ishnyh heroes. For similar reasons, the history of the musical origins of the genre, the role of disco, DJs and the musical context of the era began to correspond. So, in those years when the main theme was life in the ghetto, and rappers gossiped about crime and politics, musical culture lost its entertainment and sense of celebration, but gave birth to true heroes, but there are not many of them in hip-hop: Three 6 Mafia, Run -DMC, NWA, Public Enemy, Wu-Tang Clan and others. The commercialization of the subculture that followed in the nineties virtually destroyed the true essence of hip-hop and made it look like pop music. This was manifested in the arrangements that became electronic and intricate in sound, and in the refrains of rapping, which became more restrained and simplified, and in the disappearance of most of the essential elements of the culture of the harsh guys. The epochs of pop culture, such as Eminem, Travis Scott, as well as Post Malone, Kendrick Lamar and Jay-Z, led the era of hip hop profanation.

As an illustration, we suggest taking a look at the round-the-clock video channel of the radio station “lofi hip hop radio 24/7” of the “Chillhop Music” YouTube account

Photo in the top: https://www.ruspeach.com

COMMENTS

LEAVE AN ANSWER

Please enter your comment!
please enter your name here

Хип-хоп: истоки

Многие известные рэперы говорят о том, что хип-хоп — это ответ на засилье монотонной музыки диско в Америке семидесятых. На самом деле хип-хоп имеет прямые и значимые истоки именно в этом танцевальном стиле. Более десятка лет, вплоть до появления собственных композиций хип-хоп диджеи крутили диско. Хип-хоп является в первую очередь музыкой диджеев, так как изначально создавался с помощью двух вертушек и микрофона. Он появился как синтез диско и целого ряда оригинальных приёмов работы с виниловыми проигрывателями Technics 1200 молодых диджеев Бронкса (район Нью-Йорка), самостоятельно научившихся феноменальному владению пластами.

Жанры музыки. Хип-хоп. Фото с сайта http://kamey-tlt.ru

Самые внимательные диджеи тех лет понимали, что многие посетители клубов начинают экспрессивнее двигаться не только под определённую музыку, но и под определённые её части. Далее, и в соответствии с диджейским законом номер один — всячески поддерживать такие всплески энергии, — они повторяли только эти отдельные куски снова и снова. Так родился совершенно новый стиль «живой» музыки. Несмотря на то, что хип-хоп как стиль, в аранжировке композиций, собираемый из отрывков других направлений музыки (сейчас это технология сэмплирования отдельных звуков и лупов), качественным образом повлиял на представления о современной музыке и её креативности, он также заметно изменил технологии звукозаписи и нормы авторского права. Известно, что сэмплирование, копирование и запись кавер-версий родились задолго до хип-хопа, но масштабной и откровенной наглости хип-хоп диджеев, смешивавших всё подряд и читающих поверх своего микса речитатив, мир музыкального бизнеса ещё не встречал. Появившееся в восьмидесятых цифровое сэмплирование сделало этот процесс элементарным. Родоначальниками хип-хопа сегодня общепризнанны три великие фигуры: Clive Campbell (он же Кул Хёрк), придумавший брейкбит (повторяющиеся брейки), Grandmaster Flash, великий мастер клубного безумия и Africa Bambaataa — музыкальный полиглот и кудесник звука.

Хип-хоп: субкультура

Рэп

Упрощённо — речитатив, наложенный на бит. На родине хип-хопа называется «рэппинг», в России — «читка». Именно хип-хоп сделал читку энергичной, привлекательной и массовой.

Кул Хёрк, слушая дабовый тостинг, сделал своих MC «возбудителями» толпы, это он открыл для MC новую эру. Хип-хоп заимствовал уже известную форму речитатива, но развил её заново. Благодаря сочетанию заводного ритма и экспрессивной работы МС, эта форма быстро обретала популярность. Первыми известными МС (переводится как «microfon controller –заведующий микрофоном») стали Covboy (партнёр Grandmaster Flash), Melle Mel, Africa Bambaataa, позднее — рэпер LL Cool.

Брейкданс

Первый источник брейкданса — простенький танец хаскл, заимствованный у танцоров диско. Второй источник — проявление мужской удали в судорожных, роботоподобных движениях фанк-танцоров и танцеподобных конвульсий звезды фанка — Джеймса Брауна.

На брейкданс также повлияли такие стили, как чечетка и линди, а также некоторые спортивные движения из кун-фу. «Брейк» в названии танца — это джазовый термин, обозначавший отрезок композиции с сольной игрой барабанщика. В начале семидесятых годов прошлого века брейкданс включал только «ап-рокинг» (быстрые круговых шаги и другие движения ног, предшествующие акробатическим элементам). Позднее появились «силовые движения» (например, вращения на голове или спине), и ряд других специфических элементов танца. Танцующих брейк стали называть би-боями (b- boys). Буква «b» означала «брейк», но её также можно понимать и как «Бронкс». Суровая «стойка би-боя» (руки сложены на груди, голова наклонена вниз), любимая рэперами и сегодня, была не только демонстрацией готовности к агрессии, но и характерной позой танцора, готовящегося к брейку.

Турнтаблизм

«Руки летают от одной пластинки к другой, успевая с молниеносной быстротой тронуть кроссфейдер, плечи едва заметно, не мешая четкости действий, поднимаются и опускаются в такт ритму, движения пальцев выверены с точностью до миллиметра, каждый флик, слайд или раб отмерены «как в аптеке», а из колонок несется мощный бит, пересыпанный скрибблами и скрэтчами; голый скелет песни повторяется снова и снова, и внезапно взрывается кульминацией нового трека» — так писали о самом сложном и самом почитаемом искусстве диджея творить чудеса со звуком и винилом одновременно. Это производило сильнейшее впечатление. Но вначале был скрэтчинг. Освоив его, диджей настолько мелко мог шинковать записи, что смог создавать композиции путем манипуляции звуками (отдельными нотами, ударами или шумами), как это делает любой другой музыкант! В развитии данной формы диджейства появились целые ансамбли, играющие на нескольких вертушках, где каждый из диджеев — музыкантов отвечал за свой слой песни — басовую линию, ритмическую партию или мелодию. Вскоре даже была разработана целая система нотного письма для турнтаблистов. Наконец, появился метод, при котором хитрыми манипуляциями кроссфейдера микшера можно расслоить базовый скрэтч. Ему дали название «трансформинг». Метод сделал скрэтч абсолютно гибким и более эффектным, позволил диджею точно контролировать звук. Сегодня простой скрэтч — редкость. Настоящий турнтаблист способен объяснить вам всю разницу между такими приемами, как чирп, твик, скриббл, тэйр, стэб трансформ, гидроплан, флэйр, орбита, твидл и краб.

Баттлы

Словесный спарринг, замысловатая стихотворная похвальба о себе любимом и своём «офигенном» диджее, и напротив — унижение и поливание грязью противника. Баттлы — ещё одна из составляющих субкультуры хип-хопа. Они проходили часто, популярны и в наше время, но строились не на каких-то правилах, а просто на договоренностях о том, когда, кто и как долго должен выступать. Баттлы не проводились из-за чего-либо более серьезного, кроме как желания рэперов превзойти друг друга. Победитель баттла всего лишь повышал свой авторитет и приобретал новых фанатов очередного своего шоу

Жанр хип-хоп сегодня

Хип- хоп восьмидесятых- начала девяностых всецело эксплуатировал свое прошлое. Многочисленные рэперы стремились казаться беднее, злее и даже «чернее» других, забывая неоспоримые исторические факты. Первооткрыватели Хёрк или Флэш хотя и почитались в качестве уважаемых предков, но они уже были мало кому интересны, в отличие от новомодных МТV-ишных героев. По таким же соображениям начала переписываться история музыкальных истоков жанра, роль диско, диджеев и музыкального контекста эпохи. Так, в те годы, когда главной темой была жизнь в гетто, а рэперы судачили о преступности и политике, музыкальная культура потеряла свою развлекательность и ощущение праздника, зато родила истинных героев, а их в хип-хопе пока немного: Three 6 Mafia, Run-D.M.C., N.W.A., Public Enemy, Wu-Tang Clan и другие. Последовавшая в девяностых коммерциализация субкультуры практически уничтожила истинную суть хип- хопа и сделала его похожим на попсу. Это проявилось и в аранжировках, ставших электронными и замысловатыми по звуку, и в рефренах рэпинга, ставших более сдержанными и упрощёнными, и в исчезновении большей части неотъемлемых элементов культуры суровых парней. Возглавили эпоху профанации хип- хопа такие порождения поп-культуры, как Eminem, Travis Scott, а также Post Malone, Kendrick Lamar и Jay-Z.

В качестве иллюстрации предлагаем заглянуть на круглосуточный видеоканал радиостанции «lofi hip hop radio 24/7» аккаунта «Chillhop Music» на YouTube

Фото в топе: https://www.ruspeach.com

КОММЕНТАРИИ